Contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Details

Gear Picks

Vertx vs 5.11 Tactical Pants: Which Should You Pick?

Short answer:

Choose Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1 for the four-way stretch and 14 low-profile pockets Vertx lists.

Choose 5.11 Stryke for the mechanical-stretch ripstop and 12 pockets 5.11 lists.

Pick the Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1 if you want the four-way stretch and 14 low-profile pockets Vertx states on its product page. Pick the 5.11 Stryke if you want the 6.8-ounce ripstop build and 12-pocket layout 5.11 states instead. Neither brand wins every row, so start with the construction you can verify and ignore claims the product pages do not make.

Published September 5, 2026

What the maker pages establish

The decision is clearer when pocket count and fabric are separated from slogans. The Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1 maker page states four-way stretch, 14 low-profile pockets, and a 9.2-ounce cotton/spandex fabric. The 5.11 Stryke maker page states mechanical-stretch ripstop, 12 pockets, and a 6.8-ounce polyester/cotton fabric.

That makes Delta versus Stryke a four-way-stretch cotton blend versus a 6.8-ounce stated ripstop build, not a universal best-versus-worst call. If those two do not fit the job, the Cutback, Fusion Flex, Apex, and Taclite Pro rows below expose their maker-stated differences without filling the blanks.

A pocket count is not a job description. Start with what you carry, then decide where it needs to ride. Kneeling on gravel to change a tire makes knee construction matter; a day at a desk puts more weight on fabric and pocket bulk.

Decision table

Each factual cell is tied to the linked maker material in its row. The Stryke knee entry uses 5.11's Apex vs Stryke comparison; the Taclite Pro knee entry uses 5.11's EU product page. “Not stated by the maker” records a blank, not a negative feature.

ModelFabricMobilityStorageKnee systemSource
Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1
9.2 oz, 98% cotton / 2% spandex
Four-way stretch
14 low-profile pockets
Not stated by the maker
Vertx Cutback
6 oz, 48% cotton / 25% 37.5 polyester / 27% T400 polyester twill
Articulated knees
14 pockets
Not stated by the maker
Vertx Fusion Flex
5.9 oz polyester/cotton body; 6.8 oz nylon/spandex insert
Articulated knees
Total not stated by the maker
Not stated by the maker
5.11 Apex
Flex-Tac stretch canvas
Maker states flexible comfort for dynamic movement
Total not stated by the maker
Not stated by the maker
5.11 Stryke
6.8 oz, 65% polyester / 35% cotton Flex-Tac ripstop
Mechanical stretch
12 pockets
Pockets for internal knee-pad inserts (5.11 Apex vs Stryke comparison) maker citation
5.11 Taclite Pro
Taclite ripstop; composition not listed on the maker's page
Gusseted construction and action waistband
8 functional pockets
Internal knee pad ready (5.11 EU Taclite Pro page) maker citation

Who should pick which

Consider Vertx

Choose the Delta Stretch 2.1 when four-way stretch and a maker-counted 14-pocket layout are both requirements. Those points come directly from the Vertx Delta page.

The Cutback is worth a look when articulated knees and 14 pockets matter more than Delta's particular cotton/spandex blend. Vertx states both on its Cutback page.

Fusion Flex belongs on the list when articulated knees and a separate nylon/spandex insert are the useful details. The Fusion Flex page states those construction points but does not give a total pocket count.

5.11 Apex alternatives

Stryke is the direct alternative when the 6.8-ounce Flex-Tac ripstop build and 12-pocket layout fit the work. Both numbers are stated on the 5.11 Stryke page.

Taclite Pro is the simpler documented layout here: eight functional pockets, gusseted construction, and an action waistband, according to the 5.11 Taclite Pro page.

Apex is the least numerically specified row in this comparison. The 5.11 Apex page states Flex-Tac stretch canvas and flexible comfort for movement, but it does not give a total pocket count or knee-system claim.

What the makers do not state

These six product pages do not publish one common test that ranks abrasion life, drying time, or stretch recovery across both brands. They also do not provide a common garment-weight measurement for all six pants. Fabric weight is not finished-garment weight, so the ounce figures in the table cannot settle which complete pant weighs less.

Four of the six product pages, the Vertx Delta, Cutback, Fusion Flex, and 5.11 Apex pages, do not state a knee-pad system, and this comparison keeps those four unresolved. 5.11 states internal knee-pad pockets for the Stryke and Taclite Pro on its own pages, linked in the table. A photograph, retailer listing, or claim from a neighboring model would not establish compatibility for the named pant.

Warranty terms are not treated as model specs here because none of these makers' product pages states a model-specific warranty. Check each maker's current policy before purchase if warranty scope is part of the decision.

Check current availability

These 2 search shortcuts cover the headline comparison. Maker pages for all 6 models are linked above, so the rest of the field is not hidden behind a shopping button.

Frequently asked questions

How do Vertx and 5.11 state their stretch?

Neither maker states one universal winner. The Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1 product page calls that pant four-way stretch, while the 5.11 Stryke product page calls its fabric mechanical-stretch ripstop. Those are different maker descriptions, so this comparison does not turn the word stretch into a score.

Which Vertx or 5.11 pant has the most stated pockets?

The Vertx Delta Stretch 2.1 and Vertx Cutback product pages each state 14 pockets. The 5.11 Stryke product page states 12 pockets, and the 5.11 Taclite Pro product page states eight functional pockets. The 5.11 Apex and Vertx Fusion Flex pages do not provide a total pocket count.

Do the compared Vertx and 5.11 pages state a knee-pad system?

Yes for two of the six. 5.11's Apex vs Stryke page states pockets for internal knee-pad inserts on the Stryke, and 5.11's Taclite Pro page states the knees are internal knee pad ready. The Vertx Delta, Cutback, Fusion Flex, and 5.11 Apex pages state no knee-pad system. That is not proof those four lack one. It means this page will not invent compatibility from photographs, retailer copy, or a different model page.

Keep the decision in context

This page is the narrow brand matchup. The broader tactical pants breakdown covers general fabrics, use cases, and the wider field. For adjustable combat-pant systems, compare Crye versus UF PRO combat pants. If the Crye baseline is the question, use the Crye Precision alternatives breakdown.

Looking for a women's cut? Compare women's tactical pants by waist, fit, inseam and pockets.

Stay in the loop

Optional. New picks and gear updates only. No spam, never sold, unsubscribe anytime.