Crye vs UF PRO Combat Pants: Which Model Fits?
Choose the Crye G3 when you want the stated 50/50 nylon-cotton base, 10-pocket count, AirFlex compatibility, and simple height adjustment; pads are sold separately.
Choose UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 if you want 4-level vertical knee adjustment and 2 mesh-backed upper-thigh vents.
Pick Crye G3 Combat if you want 50/50 nylon-cotton blend pants with AirFlex pad height adjustment Crye states on its product page. Pick UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 if you want the four-level knee adjustment, mesh thigh vents, and 1.10 kg weight UF PRO lists instead. G4 and Striker XT Gen.3 add different adjustment details, so compare the specific pant models directly.
Published September 5, 2026
What the maker pages establish
Decide how much knee adjustment you need. The Crye G3 maker page lists height adjustment. The UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 maker page lists 4 vertical levels.
A size chart gets you to the fitting room. It does not put the knee pad on your knee.
G4 changes the Crye side to custom stretch VTX Ripstop and adds listed height and tension adjustment. Striker XT Gen.3 changes the UF PRO side to five vertical levels and a maker-listed 1.22 kg in size 34/34.
The table makes the shortlist. The exact fit makes the decision.
More adjustment is only useful when you take the time to set it. Install the exact pads, kneel, stand, and check the position again before treating any level count as an advantage.
Decision table
Every factual cell is tied to the manufacturer page in the final column. UF PRO materials can vary by pattern, so confirm the exact version you are buying. Unknowns stay unknown.
| Model | Fabric | Knee system | Ventilation | Weight | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Crye Precision G3 Combat | 50/50 NYCO ripstop with four-way stretch-woven accents | Removable AirFlex Combat pads, sold separately; height adjust in front thigh pocket | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker | |
Crye Precision G4 Combat | Custom stretch VTX Ripstop | Accepts AirFlex combat pads, sold separately; height and tension adjustments | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker | |
UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 | Varies by pattern; see maker page | 3D pad compatible with Solid-pad pocket; four-level vertical adjustment | Two upper-thigh openings with mosquito mesh | 1.10 kg in size 34/34 | |
UF PRO Striker XT Gen.3 | Varies by pattern; see maker page | 3D pad compatible with Solid-pad pocket; five-level vertical adjustment | Two upper-thigh openings with mosquito mesh | 1.22 kg in size 34/34 |
Who should pick which
Consider Crye G3
Choose the Crye G3 when you want the stated 50/50 nylon-cotton base, 10-pocket count, AirFlex compatibility, and simple height adjustment. The Crye G3 page supports each clause and states that the pads are sold separately.
Consider Crye G4
Choose the Crye G4 when custom stretch VTX Ripstop plus knee-pad height and tension adjustment is the documented combination you want. Crye states those points on the G4 Combat page, along with AirFlex compatibility and pads sold separately. The current product page does not state a total pocket count or finished-garment weight.
Consider UF PRO Striker X Gen.2
Choose the UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 when four-level vertical knee adjustment, two mesh-backed upper-thigh vents, and a stated 1.10 kg size 34/34 weight belong on the checklist. The UF PRO Striker X page also specifies compatibility with 3D pads and a separate Solid-pad pocket.
Consider UF PRO Striker XT Gen.3
Choose the UF PRO Striker XT Gen.3 when the manufacturer-stated five-level vertical adjustment is the decisive detail. The UF PRO Striker XT page also states two mesh-backed upper-thigh vents, compatibility with 3D and Solid pads, and a 1.22 kg size 34/34 weight.
What the makers do not state
Crye's current product pages do not give a finished-garment weight, while UF PRO gives weights for a specific size. That blocks an honest four-way weight ranking. The maker pages also do not publish one shared test for abrasion life, airflow, pad impact performance, or seam strength across all four models.
“Four-level” and “five-level” describe adjustment positions, not protection scores. Compare fit and pad placement with the exact pads you plan to use.
Check current availability
Frequently asked questions
What is the clearest Crye versus UF PRO difference?
The clearest documented difference is how each maker product page describes adjustment. The Crye G3 page states height adjustment, and the Crye G4 page states height plus tension adjustment. The UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 page states four vertical levels, while the Striker XT Gen.3 page states five.
Do Crye or UF PRO combat pants include knee pads?
The Crye G3 and G4 product pages state that AirFlex pads are sold separately. The UF PRO Striker XT Gen.3 page says its 3D Tactical and Solid pads are sold separately, and the Striker X Gen.2 requires separately purchased pads.
Which compared combat pant has a manufacturer-listed garment weight?
The UF PRO Striker X Gen.2 product page lists 1.10 kg, and the Striker XT Gen.3 product page lists 1.22 kg, both in size 34/34. Crye's G3 and G4 product pages do not state finished-garment weight, so this comparison does not invent one.
Related tactical-pants decisions
Use the tactical pants breakdown for the broader category. Compare lower-profile brand options in Vertx versus 5.11 tactical pants. If the real question is how to move away from Crye's baseline, open the Crye Precision alternatives breakdown.