Affiliate links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Details

Gear Picks

Which should you buy, the Leatherman Wave+ or the Surge, and when is the Surge worth its weight?

For daily carry, consider the Wave+: Leatherman states 18 tools, 8.5 oz, a closed length of 4 inches, and a primary blade of 2.92 inches. The Surge is the named tool when the larger set is the point: Leatherman states 21 tools, 12.5 oz, a closed length of 4.5 inches, a primary blade of 3.1 inches, and a blade exchanger the Wave+ tool list does not include.

Published September 21, 2026

The direct answer

For daily carry, consider the Wave+: Leatherman states 18 tools, 8.5 oz, a closed length of 4 inches, and a primary blade of 2.92 inches. The Surge is the named tool when the larger set is the point: Leatherman states 21 tools, 12.5 oz, a closed length of 4.5 inches, a primary blade of 3.1 inches, and a blade exchanger the Wave+ tool list does not include. The Surge's one real advantage is that larger blade and the extra tools (stranded-wire cutters, an awl with thread loop, a blade exchanger, and a large screwdriver). The Wave+ advantage is the lower stated weight, 8.5 oz against 12.5 oz.

Decision table

Every factual cell comes from the maker page in its Source row. “Not stated by the maker” means the maker's product page did not make that claim. It does not turn silence into a negative product feature.

AttributeLeatherman Wave® PlusLeatherman Surge®
Tool count1821
Weight8.5 oz12.5 oz
Closed length4 inches4.5 inches
Open length6.25 inches7 inches
Width1.2 inches1.7 inches
Overall thickness0.7 inches0.8 inches
Primary blade length2.92 inches3.1 inches
Primary blade material420HC stainless steel420HC stainless steel
Primary blade edgePlain. The tool list also names a separate serrated blade.Plain. The tool list also names a separate serrated blade.
Blade hardness55-59 HRC55-59 HRC
Blade exchangerNot stated by the makerIncluded, tool 18
AwlNot stated by the makerIncluded, tool 12 (Awl w/ Thread Loop)
Ruler8 inches (19 cm)8 inches (19 cm)
SheathSold separatelySold separately
Warranty on the product block25-year25-year
SourceWave® PlusLeatherman Surge®

Who should pick which

Consider Wave+

Consider the Wave+ if the job is daily carry. Leatherman states 18 tools in 8.5 oz, closed at 4 inches, with outside-accessible tools and a 25-year warranty.

Surge, named not linked

The Surge is the named tool, not a linked one, when the stated 21 tools, the 3.1 inch primary blade, and the blade exchanger are worth 12.5 oz and a 4.5 inch closed length.

What the makers do not state

Wave+ specifications block: no weight in that block. Weight is stated later on the same page, in the product overview (“At just 8.5 oz.”) and in the product summary (“Weight 8.5 oz”). No blade-exchanger row. No awl. No separate length for the serrated blade. No sheath included.

Surge specifications block: no weight in that block. Weight is in the product summary on the same page (“Weight 12.5 oz”). No separate length for the serrated blade. No medium screwdriver. No sheath included.

Both product warranty blocks state a 25-year warranty. A site banner on both pages says “40-Year Extended Warranty for Insiders.” That banner is not a row in either specifications block. That banner is not the model warranty.

Both pages say the tools leave a factory in Portland, Oregon. Neither specifications table has a country-of-origin row. The footer line “Made in the USA - USA & Global Parts” is not a model spec.

Neither page states a tested strength, a pocket-clip inclusion, or a sheath weight. “Sheath sold separately” is the whole sheath claim.

A five-product comparison table on each page repeats some of these figures next to other models. Cells above are taken from each model's own specifications block or its own product summary, not from the neighboring column.

Check current availability

The Surge is a Leatherman product not in our Grid, so it is not linked here.

Frequently asked questions

How many tools and how much weight does Leatherman state for each?

Leatherman states 18 tools and 8.5 oz for the Wave+, and 21 tools and 12.5 oz for the Surge.

What closed length does each page state?

The Wave+ specifications block says 4 inches closed, and the Surge specifications block says 4.5 inches closed.

What primary blade length does each page state?

The Wave+ page states a primary blade of 2.92 inches, and the Surge page states a primary blade of 3.1 inches, both in 420HC stainless steel.

Does the Surge tool list include a blade exchanger?

Yes. The Surge specifications list tool 18 as Blade Exchanger, and the Wave+ list of tools 01 through 18 does not.

Is the warranty 25 years or 40?

Each product warranty block says a 25-year warranty; the 40-year line is an Insider banner, not a row in either specifications block.

Keep the decision in context

This comparison evaluates two specific multitools; explore the broader multitool guide for compact, light-duty, and pocket-carry alternatives. To compare these tools against our curated picks across everyday carry and work tiers, visit the multitools category on The Grid.

Stay in the loop

Optional. New picks and gear updates only. No spam, never sold, unsubscribe anytime.