Which should you buy, the Leatherman Wave+ or the Signal, and when is the Signal worth choosing for outdoor carry?
For daily carry, consider the Wave+. Leatherman states 18 tools, 8.5 oz, a closed length of 4 inches, and a primary blade of 2.92 inches. The Signal is the choice when outdoor preparedness is the goal: Leatherman states 19 tools, 7.5 oz, a closed length of 4.5 inches, a 2.73 inch combo blade, and outdoor-specific implements the Wave+ tool list does not include: a ferrocerium rod, a safety whistle, a hammer surface, and a diamond-coated sharpener.
Published September 22, 2026
The direct answer
For daily carry, consider the Wave+. Leatherman states 18 tools, 8.5 oz, a closed length of 4 inches, and a primary blade of 2.92 inches. The Signal is the choice when outdoor preparedness is the goal: Leatherman states 19 tools, 7.5 oz, a closed length of 4.5 inches, a 2.73 inch combo blade, and outdoor-specific implements the Wave+ tool list does not include: a ferrocerium rod, a safety whistle, a hammer surface, and a diamond-coated sharpener. The Wave+ advantage is the dedicated plain and serrated blades, spring-action scissors, and eyeglass screwdriver bit for everyday utility.
Decision table
Every factual cell comes from the maker page in its Source row. “Not stated by the maker” means the maker's product page did not make that claim. It does not turn silence into a negative product feature.
| Attribute | Leatherman Wave® Plus | Leatherman Signal® |
|---|---|---|
| Tool count | 18 | 19 |
| Weight | 8.5 oz | 7.5 oz |
| Closed length | 4 inches | 4.5 inches |
| Open length | 6.25 inches | 6.75 inches |
| Width | 1.2 inches | 1.5 inches |
| Overall thickness | 0.7 inches | 0.63 inches |
| Primary blade length | 2.92 inches | 2.73 inches |
| Primary blade material | 420HC stainless steel | 420HC stainless steel |
| Primary blade edge | Plain. The tool list also names a separate serrated blade. | Combo edge (straight edge and serrated edge) |
| Serrated blade | 420HC serrated knife is tool 08. Its length is not stated. | Included as part of the combo knife, not a separate blade |
| Outside access | Stated | Stated |
| Locks | Every feature except the plier head | Every feature except the plier head |
| Scissors | Included, tool 10 | Not stated by the maker |
| Ferrocerium rod | Not stated by the maker | Included, tool 18 |
| Safety whistle | Not stated by the maker | Included, tool 17 |
| Hammer | Not stated by the maker | Included, tool 08 |
| Knife sharpener | Not stated by the maker. The tool list includes a diamond-coated file. | Included, tool 19 (diamond-coated sharpener) |
| Sheath | Sold separately | Sold separately |
| Warranty on the product block | 25-year | 25-year |
| Source | Wave® Plus | Leatherman Signal® |
Who should pick which
Consider Wave+
Consider the Wave+ if the primary need is everyday carry, general maintenance, and work around the home or shop. Leatherman states 18 tools in 8.5 oz, closed at 4 inches, with dedicated plain and serrated blades, spring-action scissors, and two bit drivers, backed by outside-accessible tools and a 25-year warranty.
Consider Signal
Consider the Signal if the primary need is outdoor recreation, camping, hiking, or backcountry preparedness. Leatherman states 19 tools in a lighter 7.5 oz body, closed at 4.5 inches, equipped with purpose-built outdoor implements the Wave+ lacks: a ferrocerium fire-starting rod, an emergency safety whistle, a hammer surface for stakes, and a field diamond-coated sharpener.
What the makers do not state
Wave+ specifications block, read from Closed Length through tool 18: no weight in that block. Weight is stated in the product overview (“At just 8.5 oz.”) and in the product summary (“Weight 8.5 oz”). No ferrocerium rod, emergency whistle, hammer, or standalone diamond sharpener. No separate length for the serrated blade. No sheath included.
Signal specifications block, read from Closed Length through tool 19: no weight in that block. Weight is stated in the product description (“weighs just 7.5 ounces”). No scissors, electrical crimper, or ruler. No separate plain and serrated blades (combines straight and serrated edges on a single knife). No sheath included.
Both product warranty blocks state a 25-year warranty. A site banner on both pages says “40-Year Extended Warranty for Insiders.” That banner is an Insider membership program benefit, not a row in either model's specifications block.
Both pages state that products leave a factory in Portland, Oregon. Neither specifications table has a country-of-origin row. The footer line “Made in the USA - USA & Global Parts” is not a model specification row.
Neither page states a tested implement yield strength or a sheath weight. “Sheath sold separately” is the complete sheath statement.
A five-product comparison table on each page repeats some figures next to other models. Values above are taken from each model's own specifications block or its own product overview and summary, not from neighboring comparison table columns.
Check current availability
Frequently asked questions
How many tools and how much weight does Leatherman state for each?
Leatherman states 18 tools and 8.5 oz for the Wave+, and 19 tools and 7.5 oz for the Signal.
What closed length does each page state?
The Wave+ specifications block says 4 inches closed, and the Signal specifications block says 4.5 inches closed.
What blade configurations do the two tools provide?
The Wave+ provides two full blades, a 2.92 inch plain knife and a separate serrated knife, while the Signal provides a single 2.73 inch combo knife with both straight and serrated edges.
What outdoor-specific tools does the Signal have that the Wave+ lacks?
The Signal tool list includes a ferrocerium rod for starting fires, a safety whistle, a hammer surface, and a diamond-coated sharpener, none of which are included on the Wave+ tool list.
Does the Signal have spring-action scissors?
No. Spring-action scissors are tool 10 on the Wave+, whereas the Signal tool list (tools 01 through 19) contains no scissors.
Is the warranty 25 years or 40?
Each product warranty block states a 25-year warranty. The 40-year line is an Insider banner, not a row in either specifications block.
Keep the decision in context
This comparison evaluates two specific multitools; explore the broader multitool guide for compact, light-duty, and pocket-carry alternatives. To compare these tools against our curated picks across everyday carry and work tiers, visit the multitools category on The Grid.