Which duty flashlight should you buy, the Fenix PD36R Pro or the Streamlight ProTac HL-X?
For maximum output on one cell, pick the Fenix PD36R Pro. Fenix states 2800 lumens max and a max beam distance of 1247 feet (380 meters); the separate max runtime is 42 hours on the included 5000 mAh 21700 with USB-C charging, while turbo runtime is 3 hours and 30 minutes and includes time at reduced output. The Streamlight ProTac HL-X uses one tail switch with TEN-TAP programming and runs on one SL-B26 pack at 1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, for 1.5 hours, or on two CR123A batteries at 1,000 lumens, 27,100 candela, for 1.25 hours. Pick the ProTac HL-X for that multi-fuel choice.
Published September 22, 2026
The direct answer
For maximum output on one cell, pick the Fenix PD36R Pro. Fenix states 2800 lumens max and a max beam distance of 1247 feet (380 meters); the separate max runtime is 42 hours on the included 5000 mAh 21700 with USB-C charging, while turbo runtime is 3 hours and 30 minutes and includes time at reduced output. The Streamlight ProTac HL-X uses one tail switch with TEN-TAP programming and runs on one SL-B26 pack at 1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, for 1.5 hours, or on two CR123A batteries at 1,000 lumens, 27,100 candela, for 1.25 hours. Pick the ProTac HL-X for that multi-fuel choice.
Decision table
Every factual cell comes from the maker page in its Source row. “Not stated by the maker” means the maker's product page did not make that claim. It does not turn silence into a negative product feature.
| Attribute | Fenix PD36R PRO Rechargeable Flashlight | Streamlight ProTac® HL-X |
|---|---|---|
| Battery compatibility | One included 21700 rechargeable Li-ion battery (5000 mAh) with USB-C charging | Multi-Fuel: (1) Streamlight SL-B26 pack or (2) CR123A batteries |
| Switch | Dual tactical tail switch | One tail switch with TEN-TAP Programming |
| Length | 5.74 inches (145.8 mm) | 5.43 inches (13.8 cm) |
| Weight | 5.96 oz (169 g) including battery | 5.7 oz (162 g) with CR123A; 6.2 oz (176 g) with SL-B26 pack |
| SL-B26 | Not stated by the maker | high 1,300 lumens / 35,000 candela / 1.5 h; medium 420 lumens / 11,000 candela / 3.75 h; low 70 lumens / 1,800 candela / 25 h |
| CR123A | Not stated by the maker | high 1,000 lumens / 27,100 candela / 1.25 h; medium 400 lumens / 10,000 candela / 3 h; low 65 lumens / 1,600 candela / 20 h |
| Water resistance | Waterproof underwater to 2 meters | IP68-rated, waterproof to 2 meters |
| Impact resistance | Impact resistant | 2-meter impact resistance tested |
| Body material | A6061-T6 aluminum | Anodized aluminum |
| Warranty | Limited Lifetime Guarantee | Limited Lifetime Warranty |
| Source | Fenix PD36R PRO Rechargeable Flashlight | Streamlight ProTac® HL-X |
Who should pick which
Consider Fenix PD36R Pro
Should you need maximum output, longer runtimes, and a dedicated 21700 rechargeable battery, consider the Fenix PD36R Pro. Fenix states 2800 lumens max, 1247 feet (380 meters) throw, and a 5000 mAh battery for up to 42 hours runtime.
Consider Streamlight ProTac HL-X
Pick the Streamlight ProTac HL-X if fuel versatility is your priority. Streamlight states it runs on two disposable CR123A lithium batteries or an SL-B26 rechargeable pack, with user-selectable TEN-TAP options from its single tail switch.
What the makers do not state
THE specifications block for the Fenix PD36R Pro, read from Max Lumens through Warranty, omits candela ratings per mode and beam distances for intermediate modes.
MAKERS do not provide a shared testing standard across both products, publishing only their own laboratory metrics.
DO not expect the Streamlight specifications table, read from Description through Product Ratings, to state a warranty duration row or imperial foot measurements for beam distance.
Fenix charges for parts after 2 years.
STATE: Each maker states output and runtime according to its own documentation without joint comparative testing.
Check current availability
Frequently asked questions
What battery does each light take?
The Fenix PD36R Pro uses an included 21700 rechargeable battery, while the Streamlight ProTac HL-X accepts either one rechargeable SL-B26 pack or two CR123A lithium batteries.
What are the peak lumens stated for each light?
Fenix states 2800 lumens for the PD36R Pro, and Streamlight states 1,300 lumens on its SL-B26 pack or 1,000 lumens on CR123A batteries.
What switch configuration does the Streamlight ProTac HL-X use?
Streamlight states the ProTac HL-X features a single tail switch with TEN-TAP programming for selecting between three mode programs.
What candela does each maker publish?
Streamlight publishes 35,000 candela on high with its SL-B26 pack and 27,100 candela with CR123A batteries, whereas Fenix does not publish candela figures in its specifications table.
What water and impact ratings do the makers state?
Fenix states impact resistance and waterproofing underwater to 2 meters, and Streamlight states an IP68 dust-tight and 2-meter waterproof rating with 2-meter impact resistance tested.
Keep the decision in context
This comparison evaluates two specific duty flashlights; explore the broader flashlight buyers guide for everyday carry, compact, and tactical alternatives. To compare these lights against our curated picks across duty, value, and bargain tiers, visit the flashlights category on The Grid.